Darren Atkins 2012

Coventry based cycle race team, Team Jewson M.I.Racing Thule had 5 of their riders honoured at Saturdays British Cycling Gala Dinner, held at the Hilton Hotel, Birmingham, on Saturday Evening, the only local riders to receive such honours.

Kenilworth’s Darren Atkins, received awards for winning the National Cyclo Cross Trophy series for 2012/13 winning 5 out of the 6 events and 3rd in the other, he also received awards for second in the National Championships, and as a member of the winning Team, both 2013.

Baginton’s Mick Ives received awards for 2nd place in the UCI World Masters Cyclo Cross Championships in 2012 held in Kentucky,USA, and for 3rd place in the National Championships.

Steve Knight and Matt Denby both received awards for being members of the National Championship winning Team 2012/13.
And Derrick Wooding received awards for 2nd place in the UCI World Masters 5 km Point to Point Track Championships, and winning the British Masters 5km Scratch Track Championships, and 3rd in the British Masters 2,000m Individual Pursuit Championships.

A great evening for the Coventry based Team and just a small reflection on some of the success’s the Team has enjoyed during the past 12 months.

Mean while the Teams Elite Triathlete Samantha Anderson(who is also a member of the Rugby Tri Club) swopped wheels for running shoes on Sunday to finish 2nd in the Wyre Forest Cross Country race over 8 km, held in very wet and freezing cold conditions Samantha has already qualified for the 2013 World Triathlon Champs to be held in London, later in the year.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *